CELT Programs CUWAA 2022 – 2023

Summer 2022

Summer Faculty Book Group – Distracted: Why Students Can’t Focus and What You Can Do About It

Register by Friday, May 27 (end of day) to receive a free copy of the book

Tuesdays June 7, 21 and July 12: 11:00 am – Noon Central/Noon – 1:00 pm Eastern on Zoom
With Erin Laverick and Elizabeth Evans

Why is it so hard to get students to pay attention? The answer is not just to eliminate distractions, but to “rethink the practice of teaching.” This book by James N Lang, reveals “how educators can structure their classrooms less as distraction-free zones and more as environments where they can actively cultivate students’ attention. Brimming with ideas and grounded in new research, Distracted offers an innovative plan for the most important lesson of all: how to learn.”

Improve Your Spring Course Workshop

Wednesday May 18, 9:00 – 11:00 am Central/10:00 – Noon Eastern on Zoom

Presenters: Kate Robertson and Elizabeth Evans

Whew! Congrats! You finished the whirlwind known as the end of the semester. This is the perfect time to review one of your courses and plan improvements for next time. Bring your “student results” (your outputs) and your syllabus and your course “inputs” to this session. What does your course look like from the student’s POV? How did the course results align with your hopes/ goals? How did your organization, delivery of content, communication, evaluation strategies and instructional strategies make for effective learning? After review of a course, participants will identify changes to make for next time. You can use the plan developed here as an example of your continuous improvement in your upcoming annual faculty evaluation in June. Discussion and workshop time are included. This workshop fits any course delivery, including online.

Learn to use Voicethread for Student Engagement on Blackboard

Thursday May 19, 10:00 – 11:00 am Central/11:00 am – 12:00 pm Eastern on Zoom

Presenters: Susan Gallanis, Janice Weisenbach

Faculty will learn how to use Voicethread, a tool in Blackboard that takes the idea of an online discussion board to a new level of engagement. Participants will learn how to narrate media such as a PowerPoint, then share with students. Students can add audio, video, or text-based comments. We will also show how to create a Voicethread that can be graded in Blackboard.

Learn to Use Panopto

Thursday May 19, Noon – 1:00 pm Central/1:00 – 2:00 pm Eastern

Presenter: Justin Frisque

This session for faculty focuses on using Panopto for recording content on a laptop. Participants will learn how to record and share a Panopto recording, do basic video editing, share a video link, and add Panopto to your Blackboard course. Also covered is how to upload a Zoom recording to Panopto and set up a Blackboard Assignment (drop box) for students to submit their Panopto video assignment.

Concordia Faculty Seminar –Hannah Baker and Anne Martin – Recent Doctorates

Wednesday June 1, Noon – 1:00 pm Central/1:00 – 2:00 pm Eastern via Zoom

Please plan to join us on Zoom to learn about the research conducted by two colleagues who recently completed their doctoral degrees:

  • Anne Martin (Occupational Therapy, Mequon) recently completed her post-professional Doctor of Occupational Therapy from Creighton University with a project entitled “Occupational Therapy Practitioners’ Use of Standardized Assessments in Acute Care.”
  • Hannah Baker (Physical Therapy, Mequon) recently defended her dissertation towards the Ph.D. in Interdisciplinary Health Sciences from Northern Illinois University. Her dissertation was entitled Exploring the Intersection of Nursing Home Culture, Improvement, and Documentation-Related Attitudes.

Concordia Faculty Seminars are informal interactive presentations and conversations on faculty and staff projects including grants, research, and service designed to promote scholarship, spark new ideas, provide opportunities for meaningful discussion, and increase collaboration. Faculty, staff and students are welcome at attend.

Ally Information Sessions

Friday May 20, 12:30 – 1:00 pm Central/1:30 – 2:00 pm Eastern. 
Thursday June 2, 1:00 – 1:30 pm Central/2:00 – 2:30 pm Eastern.
Monday June 13, 11:00 – 11:30 am Central/Noon – 12:30 pm Eastern.
Wednesday June 29, 9:00 – 9:30 am Central/10:00 – 10:30 am Eastern.
Tuesday July 19, 3:00 – 3:30 pm Central/4:00 – 4:30 pm Eastern.

Ally is a tool in Blackboard to help instructors make their content more accessible. Your class is full of diverse students with unique learning abilities, needs and devices. Course content created with this in mind can benefit not only your students with disclosed disabilities such as visual impairments and dyslexia, but improve the learning experience for all of your students.

During this information session, we will show the Ally accessibility indicators, explain Ally instructor feedback report including the built-in instructions to improve the content accessibility.

Behind the Screens: Engagement and Retention in Virtual and Online Classes

Wednesday July 20, 6:00 – 7:00 pm Central/7:00 – 8:00 pm Eastern via Zoom
Presenters: Diana Belscamper, Sandra Jahns, Kate Robertson

Target Audience: Faculty who teach non-traditional courses (fully online, virtual, accelerated), but all faculty are welcome to attend. Keeping students engaged and motivated is one of the challenges of teaching across distance – asynchronous online or virtually via Zoom. Many of our faculty and students experience screen fatigue, especially in the past few years. This interactive session will provide an opportunity to share your own best practices, and will highlight theories and methods for engaging students, including

  • how to effectively plan a long Zoom session;
  • adapting face-to-face methods to the online environment;
  • ways to provide thoughtful and constructive feedback efficiently.

Document Improvement Days

Two dates to choose from; Attend on Zoom or in Rincker 213 (Mequon Campus only)
Thursday July 21, 10:00 am – Noon Central/11:00 am – 1:00 pm Eastern
Wednesday July 27, 3:00 – 4:00 pm Central/4:00 – 5:00 pm Eastern
Registration link (both days)

Presenter: CELT Staff

Faculty can get help with making your course content more accessible by attending a Document Improvement Day session. CELT staff will be available to help you edit your documents using Ally. We can also help with and demonstrate some of the common fixes that are included in Microsoft Word and PowerPoint.

After submitting your registration, the CELT Student Worker will send you an Outlook invitation for this event. Please accept this invitation as you will not receive a separate email confirmation. The day before the event, we will send a reminder. If you have any questions, please contact Susan Gallanis.

Universal Design for Learning

Tuesday July 26, 1:00 – 2:00 Central/2:00 – 3:00 Eastern via Zoom
Registration link

Presenters: Janis Chapman, Kathleen Hoppa-Grady, Taylor Richards, Susan Gallanis

During this session for faculty, we will provide an overview of Universal Design for Learning (UDL), explain who it benefits and how UDL looks in higher education. We will share and faculty will discover UDL practices that they already use. We will also share resources and tips for expanding UDL principles when working with students.

After submitting your registration, you will receive a registration confirmation, the Zoom meeting link, and the option to add this event to your calendar. The day before the event, we will send a reminder. If you have any questions, please contact Susan Gallanis.

New and Returning Faculty Development Day

Wednesday August 10, 8:15 – 4:00 Central/9:15 – 5:00 Eastern
All sessions are via Zoom. Registration link for all sessions.

Session descriptions are below. Register for all that you are able to attend.  After submitting your registration, the CELT Student Worker will send you an Outlook invitation for each session you registered for and it will include the Zoom link. Please accept the invitation(s) as you will not receive a separate email confirmation. The day before the event, we will send an email reminder. If you have any questions, please contact Elizabeth Evans.

Designing/Refreshing Your Course and Syllabus – Kate Robertson and Elizabeth Evans
8:15 – 9:45 am Central/9:15 – 10:45 am Eastern
Learn about and incorporate best practices in course design, and syllabus development. Discussion includes how to improve your objectives, align course objectives with assessments, the Concordia University syllabus template latest revision, and how to connect to program and Global Learning Outcomes.

Blackboard Basics – Susan Gallanis
10:00 – 11:30 am Central/11:00 am – 12:30 pm Eastern
Learn how to add content, Blackboard Assignments (“dropboxes”) and set up the gradebook for a Fall course! This is an ideal session for faculty new to using Blackboard. Session is for those who set up their own Blackboard courses.

Engaging Your Learners – Susan Gallanis, Kate Robertson, and Diana Belscamper
11:45 am – 12:45 pm Central/12:45 – 1:45 pm Eastern
Effective teaching fosters learning; students need to be engaged for learning to happen. This session introduces strategies to engage students in multiple instructional modes.

Blackboard Tests and Respondus LockDown Browser with Monitor – Susan Gallanis
1:00 – 2:30 pm Central/2:00 – 3:30 pm Eastern
The first half of this session will show how faculty can create Blackboard Tests using three commonly used question types. The second half of the session will cover Respondus LockDown Browser and Monitor. Faculty will learn the difference between LockDown Browser and Monitor, and how to enable the appropriate settings based on where students take the test.

Faculty Resources – Elizabeth Evans, Susan Gallanis, and Wayne Thompson (primarily for full-time faculty)
3:00 – 4:00 pm Central/4:00 – 5:00 pm Eastern
Learn what resources are available to you as faculty, including research/scholarship support, where to find them, and who to contact if you need more help.

Leave a Comment.