Practices and Processes: Building An Effective Curriculum

This interactive session for faculty leaders, department chairs, and program directors suggests strategies for the development of effective curricula for academic programs. These strategies could be applied to new programs or to improve and refresh existing programs.

Here are the resources for this workshop that was held on Friday, August 12, Noon – 1:00 pm Central/1:00 – 2:00 pm Eastern via Zoom.

Recording 20220812-1

Other resources:

Practices and Processes – Building an Effective Curriculum

 

Voicethread for Newbies

Voicethread is a tool in Blackboard that takes the idea of an online discussion board to a new level of engagement. Participants learn how to access and navigate the Voicethread options, create a basic instructor introduction, comment on a Voicethread using audio, video, or text, and set up a graded Voicethread assignment.

Here are the resources for this workshop that was held on Friday, August 12, 10:00 – 11:00 am Central/11:00 am – Noon Eastern via Zoom.

Recording 20220812-2

Other resources:

Voicethread resources

 

Learn Ally and Tips for Improve Your Course Documents

Ally is a tool in Blackboard to help instructors make their content more accessible. Your class is full of diverse students with unique learning abilities, needs and devices. Course content created with this in mind can benefit not only your students with disclosed disabilities such as visual impairments and dyslexia, but improve the learning experience for all of your students.

During this information session, we show the Ally accessibility indicators and Ally instructor feedback report. We also demonstrate common fixes in Microsoft Word that can help make your content more accessible for all students.

Here are the resources for this workshop that was held on Thursday August 11, 9:30 – 11:00 am Central/10:30 am – Noon Eastern via Zoom.

Recording 20220811-1

Other resources:

Document Improvement Guide 2022

Other Ally Resources

New and Returning Faculty Development Day: Faculty Resources

This session is primarily for full-time faculty.

Learn what resources are available to you as faculty, including research/scholarship support, where to find them, and who to contact if you need more help.

Here are the resources for this workshop that was held on Wednesday, August 10, 3:00 – 4:00 pm Central/4:00 – 5:00 pm Eastern via Zoom.

Recording 20220810-5

Other resources:

2022 Aug 10 Faculty Resources Handout

New syllabus template e-mail July 1, 2022

New and Returning Faculty Development Day: Blackboard Tests and Respondus LockDown Browser with Monitor

The first half of this session shows how faculty can create Blackboard Tests using three commonly used question types. The second half of the session covers Respondus LockDown Browser and Monitor. Faculty learns the difference between LockDown Browser and Monitor, and how to enable the appropriate settings based on where students take the test.

Here are the resources for this workshop that was held on Wednesday, August 10, 1:00 – 2:30 pm Central/2:00 – 3:30 pm Eastern via Zoom.

Recording 20220810-4

Other resources:

Blackboard Test Feedback Options Summer 2020

Blackboard Tests Summer 2020

Respondus LockDown Browser and Monitor Summer 2020

 

New and Returning Faculty Development Day: Engaging Your Learners

Effective teaching fosters learning; students need to be engaged for learning to happen. This session introduces strategies to engage students in multiple instructional modes.

Here are the resources for this workshop that was held on Wednesday, August 10, 11:45 am – 12:45 pm Central/12:45 – 1:45 pm Eastern via Zoom.

Recording 20220810-3

Other resources:

FINAL Engaging Your Learner 08082022

New and Returning Faculty Development Day: Blackboard Basics

Learn how to add content, Blackboard Assignments (“dropboxes”), and set up the grade book for a Fall course! This is an ideal session for faculty new to using Blackboard. The session is for those who set up their own Blackboard courses.

Here are the resources for this workshop that was held on Wednesday, August 10, 10:00 – 11:30 am Central/11:00 am – 12:30 pm Eastern via Zoom.

Recording 20220810-2

Other resources:

Blackboard Basics Fall 2022

Concordia-University-Blackboard-Use-for-Faculty-August-2022 (1)

New and Returning Faculty Development Day: Designing/Refreshing Your Course and Syllabus

Learn about and incorporate best practices in course design and syllabus development. Discussion includes how to improve your objectives, align course objectives with assessments, the Concordia University syllabus template’s latest revision, and how to connect to Program and Global Learning Outcomes.

 

Here are the resources for this workshop that was held on Wednesday, August 10, 8:15 – 9:45 am Central/9:15 – 10:45 am Eastern via Zoom.

Recording 20220810-1

Other resources:

Bloom’s Verbs, Assessment and Questioning Strategies

Blooms Taxonomy Wheel Color

CU Evaluation of Instruction Proposed Model 2019 E Evans

Overview of Design Diagram

Concordia-Syllabus-Template-7-1-2022

New syllabus template e-mail July 1 2022

DBA 9010 Syllabus 12-2020 M Hurtienne

MPD 518 Syllabus J. Wood October 2021

MSAT 350 – Applied Biomechanics and Arthrokinematics – Smith – Spring 2022

PSY 310 Theories of Personality Stark 12-21 (2022 template)

 

Universal Design for Learning

During this session for faculty, we provide an overview of Universal Design for Learning (UDL), explain who it benefits and how UDL looks in higher education. We share and faculty will discover UDL practices that they already use. We also share resources and tips for expanding UDL principles when working with students.

Here are the resources for this workshop that was held on Tuesday, July 26, 1:00 – 2:00 Central/2:00 – 3:00 Eastern via Zoom

Recording 20220726-1

Other resources:

UDL PPT Final