CELT Programs CUW and CUAA – January 2021

Creating an Inclusive Classroom: Curricular Considerations and Teaching Approaches with Erin Laverick, Tori Negash and Marlena Ward-Dodds

Thursday January 7, 10:00 – 11:30 am Central/11:00 am – 12:30 pm Eastern

As educators, we often hear the buzz phrase, “create an inclusive classroom.” But what does creating an inclusive classroom entail? This session will begin to answer this question and delve into ways we can be more mindful in meeting our students’ individual needs. Contact erin.laverick@cuaa.edu with questions.

Designing a Critical Thinking Assignment with Elizabeth Evans

Friday January 8, 8:30 – 10:00 am Central/9:30 – 11:00 am Eastern

Part of our focus on GLO#4 Critical Thinking, this session introduces four areas on which to build assignments: Analysis, Synthesis, Evaluation and Reflection. Excellent for those doing incremental improvement work on GLO#4 and anyone who develops assignments.

Turn Your Classroom into a Research Space: SoTL Workshop with Erin Laverick

Monday January 11, 8:30 – 10:30 am Central/9:30 – 11:30 am Eastern

Are you stuck in a research rut? Or do you struggle to find time to research? Why not try using your classroom as a research space? Attend this fun and engaging workshop to learn more. You do not need to prepare anything, but you are encouraged to have some syllabi on hand. Contact Erin Laverick with questions.

Learn to Use Voicethread with Katelyn Shields and Susan Gallanis

Monday January 11, 11:00 am – Noon Central/Noon – 1:00 pm Eastern

In this session, we will introduce a tool called Voicethread. With Voicethread, faculty can share PowerPoints (including voice over PowerPoints) and other media with their students. Students can also create Voicethreads, such as class presentations. Students and faculty can add text, audio or video comments to Voicethreads. Come to this session to learn how to use this engaging, interactive tool.

Learn to Use OneNote and OneDrive for Collaboration with Students with Susan Gallanis

Monday January 11, 1:00 – 2:00 pm Central/2:00 – 3:00 pm Eastern

During this session, faculty will learn how to access their Concordia University OneNote and OneDrive tools, part of Microsoft 365. Faculty will see how these tools can be used with Blackboard to share documents and collaborate in real time with students on documents (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, electronic Notebook). Is this Google Docs? No, it’s OneNote and OneDrive.

Strategic Course Scheduling

Choose from two options (both programs are the same):

  • Monday January 11, 2021 3:00 – 4:00 pm Central/4:00 – 5:00 pm Eastern
  • Tuesday January 12, 2021 11:00 am – Noon Central/Noon – 1:00pm Eastern

Presenters: Michele Hoffman, Allison Wolf, Leah Dvorak

Please invite your administrative assistant to register as well; he or she will gain valuable information to assist you with the scheduling process.

We will guide you through a series of steps to enhance your knowledge and skills in scheduling courses for your program. Topics include analysis of section enrollment, how to request schedule changes, guided study protocols, and basic tips for maximizing the enrollment and rotation of your course offerings.

Strategic Course Scheduling is very highly encouraged for deans, department chairs, and program directors along with their administrative support staff, and brought to you by the Office of Institutional Effectiveness/Registrar. If you have questions, please contact Tammy Ferry.

Vocation: God’s Call in Our Lives with Rachel Pickett

Tuesday January 12, 9:00 – 10:30 am Central/10:00 – 11:30 am Eastern

Live out your FAITH in the classroom! Respond to God’s call to share your gifts in new ways with students and strengthen your connection with God and with neighbor. Attend this interactive session in which we will 1) explore Lutheran Vocation on a deeper level by learning ways to share your personal narrative, and 2) value the unique developmental needs of a variety of students while introducing them to discerning God’s call in their lives. This is an educational part of the NetVUE Grant program which offers a $500 stipend for faculty and staff who participate in learning experiences, develop a lesson for students, and share the evaluation of student learning from that lesson.

Polysynchronous Teaching (2 sessions, Mequon only)

Tuesday January 12, 2:00 – 3:00 pm OR Friday January 15, 9:00 – 10:00 am
Room TBD and via Zoom.
Presenters: Justin Frisque, Susan Gallanis

During this session for faculty, Justin Frisque will demonstrate the classroom technology used for poly-synchronous teaching. Susan Gallanis will review effective ways to communicate with in-class and virtual students during class time. Participants in the room will have the opportunity to try out the technology for themselves.

New and Returning Faculty Development Day

Wednesday, January 13
All sessions via Zoom
Register for each session that you are able to attend

  • Designing Your Course and Syllabus – with Kate Robertson, Erin Laverick and Elizabeth Evans
    8:15 – 9:45 am Central/9:15 – 10:45 am Eastern.

    Learn about and incorporate best practices in syllabus development and course design. Discussion will include the Concordia University syllabus template, including the latest revision for this fall, how to demonstrate connection to Global Learning Outcomes and what is required to document the credit hour policy.

  • Blackboard Basics – with Susan Gallanis and Justin Frisque
    10:00 – 11:30 am Central/11:00 am – 12:30 pm Eastern.

    Learn how to add content, Blackboard Assignments (“dropboxes”) and set up the gradebook for a spring course! This is an ideal session for faculty new to using Blackboard.

  • Teaching Today – Zooming, Recording, and Supporting Learning (for new faculty) with Justin Frisque and Elizabeth Evans
    11:45 am – 12:45 pm Central/ 12:45 – 1:45 pm Eastern.

    During COVID, we use virtual delivery to supplement in-person instruction and facilitate social distancing.

    This is an overview of what you need to know and how to learn about: the Concordia Zoom account, using Zoom, how to find the technology in your classroom, what is polysynchronous?, using the Instructional Continuity Channel, things to know, how to get help.

  • Blackboard: Blackboard Tests and Respondus LockDown Browser with Monitor with Susan Gallanis

    Blackboard Tests: 1:00 – 2:00 pm Central/2:00 – 3:00 pm Eastern
    Respondus LockDown Browser with Monitor: 2:00 – 2:30 pm Central/3:00 – 3:30 pm Eastern

    Faculty will learn how to create a Blackboard Test using three commonly used question types. We will also look at some of the most common test options used when deploying a test.

    Respondus LockDown Browser and Monitor are used to deter cheating while taking Blackboard tests. Faculty will learn the difference between Respondus LockDown Browser and Respondus Monitor and how to enable the appropriate settings based on where the students will take the test.

  • Faculty Resources – Elizabeth Evans, Susan Gallanis, Julie Dresen and Erin Laverick
    3:00 – 4:00 pm Central/4:00 – 5:00 pm Eastern.

    Learn what resources are available to you as faculty, including research/scholarship support, where to find them, and who to contact if you need more help.

Faculty Scholarship Workshop

Tuesday January 19, 2021 from 9:00 am Central to 4:00 pm Central / 10:00 am Eastern to 5:00 pm Eastern Time.

Sponsored by the Faculty Scholarship Committee

Our traditional approach to Faculty Scholarship Boot Camp is being reimagined this year. Instead of a quiet place to work with lunch and snacks, we are planning time to learn from and share with each other about our work in the steps of a research project – from idea to publication.

Please register for each session you plan to attend. If you wish to set up an appointment for statistical or research design support, please e-mail Angela Walmsley. If you wish to set up appointment for writing support, please e-mail Julie Dresen.

If you have any questions about this program, please email Julie Dresen.

Workshop Schedule

  • Developing a Research Question – Sandy Slater
    9:00 – 9:50 am Central/10:00 – 10:50 am Eastern
  • Discerning Design from an Initial Research Question – Angela Walmsley
    10:00 – 10:50 am Central/11:00 – 11:50 Eastern
  • Writing a Book Proposal – Mark Wolf
    11:00 – 11:45 am Central/Noon – 12:45 pm Eastern
  • Citation Manager Hacks for Productivity – Elaine Gustafson (CUW Library)
    Noon – 12:50 pm Central/1:00 – 1:50 pm Eastern
  • Writing an Abstract – Jeff Walz
    1:00 – 1:50 pm Central/2:00 – 2:50 pm Eastern
  • How to Get Published/Tricks of the Trade – Michael Oldani
    2:00 – 2:50 pm Central/3:00 – 3:50 pm Eastern
  • Venturing into the Realm of Digital Scholarship – Erin Laverick
    3:00 – 3:50 pm Central/4:00 – 4:50 pm Eastern

CIRG Workshop – Required for All New CIRG Applicants

Thursday January 14, 1:00 – 2:00 pm Central/2:00 – 3:00 pm Eastern via Zoom

Presenters: Julie Dresen, Rachel Heil

This workshop is for first-time CIRG applicants and is brought to you by the Concordia Intramural Research Grant (CIRG) Committee and the Office for Research and Sponsored Programs (ORSP).

First-time CIRG applicants MUST attend this workshop to be eligible for grant funding.

This workshop is to help faculty with the CIRG grants application process. The workshop will focus on the following:

  1. Budget Development (Ensuring that your budget is appropriate, addresses necessary resources, and is justified)
  2. Objectives and Outcomes (Developing goals, objectives, and outcomes)
  3. Efficient and professional writing (Ensuring that your proposal is concise, specific, and clearly communicates your intent)

The purpose of these grants is to support scholarly activity among interested full-time Concordia University faculty. These grants are intended to function as seed money in obtaining additional funding from outside sources. If you are unsure if your idea is eligible, please review the definition of scholarship described in the CU Faculty handbook, or review the application for further information. CIRG is a faculty committee, and full time faculty in all disciplines are encouraged to apply for a grant. Examples of past successfully funded proposals can be found in the portal link faculty page under the “research and scholarship” tab, along with the application.

If you have questions, please contact Rachel Heil.

How to Avoid Running Out of Space in your Blackboard Course with Susan Gallanis and Justin Frisque

Wednesday January 20, 11:00 am – Noon Central/Noon – 1:00 pm Eastern

During this session faculty will learn about the types of large files that can take up too much space in a Blackboard course. Over time, this can cause the maximum space limit to be reached. We will explain effective ways to share this type of content with students, without running out of course space.

How to Avoid Running Out of Space in Your Blackboard Course

Susan Gallanis and Justin Frisque held this session on January 20, 2021. Below is the session recording and related materials.

Session Recording

How to record with Zoom to your computer or to the cloud (in depth explanation)

How to create a Panopto folder (for recordings) in your Blackboard course

How to do a Bulk Delete in Blackboard

How to access Microsoft OneDrive and share a link to a file

Topics Covered:

Size limit for Blackboard courses: 1GB

If you receive the quota error message, review the Content Collection for large files. Manage them as described below. Then, you MUST delete the files from the Content Collection.

The two most common types of files that are large and cause problems:

  • Video files (mp4, MOV, etc.)
  • Voiceover PPT files

How to Avoid Maxing Out: Videos and Voiceover PPTs

  • Videos for short term. Example: Zoom class session recordings
    • Record to the Zoom cloud, then share the link to the recording in your course
  • Videos to keep long term (not just one course or semester)
    • Upload the video file to Panopto or YouTube
    • Share the link to the recording in your course
  • Voiceover PPT files
    • Convert to a video file
    • Upload to Panopto or YouTube
    • Share the link to the recording in your course
  • Student uploads go toward the course maximum as well. Students should also upload large files such as videos to YouTube or OneDrive.

If you receive the quota error message, review the Content Collection for large files. Manage them as described above. Then, you MUST delete the files from the Content Collection.

Faculty Scholarship Workshop 1/19/2021

Here are the resources and recordings for the Faculty Scholarship Workshop sessions that were held on 1/19/2021.

Developing a Research Question:

Discerning Design from an Initial Research Question:

Writing a Book Proposal:

Citation Manager Hacks for Productivity:

Writing an Abstract:

How to Get Published/Tricks of the Trade:

Venturing into the Realm of Digital Scholarship: